TypeScript - A Superset of JavaScript with Strong Typing

TypeScript is an open-source programming language developed by Microsoft. It is a superset of JavaScript, meaning that all valid JavaScript code is valid TypeScript code. The main difference between the two is that TypeScript adds optional static typing and object-oriented features, such as classes and interfaces, to the language. This makes it easier for developers to write code that is easier to read, maintain, and debug.

The static typing in TypeScript ensures that the types of variables are known at compile time, making it easier for developers to catch errors before they become bugs in their applications. This helps reduce debugging time and makes development more efficient. In addition, TypeScript also supports type inference which can help eliminate some manual type annotations from the codebase. It also enables better IDE support with features such as autocompletion and refactoring support.

TypeScript also incorporates features from newer versions of ECMAScript (JavaScript) which might not be supported by older browsers. When compiled into plain JavaScript, these features are transformed into equivalent constructs so that they can run on older browsers as well. This allows developers to use modern syntax while supporting older browsers without having to write extra code or maintain separate versions for different environments.

TypeScript is becoming increasingly popular among developers due to its combination of advanced features and compatibility with existing JavaScript libraries and frameworks such as React and Angular. As more applications are written in TypeScript, it becomes increasingly important for developers to learn the language so they can take advantage of its benefits when developing web applications or other types of software projects.


Learn more

Related content


"Untendurch": Web App for Pro Lutra

The Pro Lutra Foundation is committed to the protection of otters in Switzerland. A web app developed by Tegonal helps with this.


Oliver Studer

Thomas Rawyler

Mikel Cordovilla Mesonero

Alwin Egger

Mike Toggweiler

Robert Stoll

Fabian Page

© 2024 Tegonal Cooperativeimprint & privacy statement